Crysse Morrison Prize for Poetry 2024

Following the success of last year’s inaugural competition, this year will see the return of the Crysse Morrison Prize for Poetry. Best known for her wealth of writing and her love of Frome Festival, Crysse was an inspirational writer who always championed poetry throughout the Festival.


  • 1st Prize – £200
  • 2nd Prize – £100
  • 3rd Prize – £75
  • Local Prize (5 miles of Frome) – £75

The Crysse Morrison Prize for Poetry will be presented by prize-winning poet Emma Purshouse during the Festival on Saturday 13th July / 3.30pm at Bistro Lotte. Enjoy an afternoon of prize-winning poems and delicious baked goods in Frome’s famous French bistro.


Judge – Emma Purhouse

First Prize

Good Friday – Ian Royce Chamberlaine

Second Prize

Of Settlement. Of Roots – Jane Burn

Third Prize

The Art of Astronomy – Sarah Doyle

Local Prize

The Long Man – David Thompson

Highly Commended

Christine Griffin
Claire Morris
Graeme Ryan
Mark Connors
Carol Caffrey
Dr Jennifer A McGowan
Phil Jackson

Thank you for the fantastic response to this year’s competition!

Emma PurShouse – JUDGE

Born in Wolverhampton, Emma Purshouse was, and is a freelance writer, novelist and performance poet.

She is a poetry slam champion and performs regularly at spoken word nights far and wide. Her appearances include, The Cheltenham Literature Festival, Ledbury Poetry Festival, Much Wenlock Poetry Festival, Shambala, Womad, Latitude and Solfest. She has supported the likes of John Hegley, Hollie McNish and Carol Ann Duffy.

Emma has undertaken poetry residencies for Wolverhampton Libraries, The New Vic Theatre in Stoke-on-Trent and The International Festival of Glass in Stourbridge. She was the first Poet Laureate for the City of Wolverhampton (2020 – 2022).


Judge – Rosie Jackson

First Prize

Egg – Kathryn Bevis

Second Prize

Song of Ham’s Wife – Jeff Phelps

Third Prize

Joralemon Street, Brooklyn, 1 September 2001 – Tessa Strickland

Local Prize

The Pale Blue Box – Alice Caudle

Highly Commended

My Mother Discharges Me from Worry – Owen Gallagher
Bookends – Sara-Jane Arbury


Lahore, 2022 – Abby Crawford
Lichfield Angel – Tessa Strickland
St Tudwal in the Field – Christopher James
Holy days – Dillon Jaxx